Online – Episode #1

What do you use the internet for?

Starting from homework to passing time, we’re all a little too dependent when it comes to the World Wide Web. It has a different meaning in all our lives, at different stages. The vast majority mainly use it to learn or to entertain themselves. To some, it’s how they make their living like youtubers, bloggers and so many social media influencers. And then there are those who make it their life.

Logged on as – agirlwhodreams

January 20th, 2015 – It’s My Birthday

I LOVE MY LAPTOP SO MUCH!!!!! I LOVE MY DAD SO MUCH!!!!! Okay, everyone’s here for my party – xoxo.

2 – Responses

gamer8055 : Happy birthday!

edmforlife : It ain’t a partaay without some coke. Hit me up if you’re up for some real fun. πŸ˜‰

January 25th, 2015 – Homework Sucks. School sucks. Life sucks.

Dear Diary teenagers on this subreddit,

I had a shit day at school. I have so much homework. Who cares why Phenanthrene is more stable than Benzene & Anthracene? My Chemistry teacher needs to get laid.

10 – Responses

gamer8055 : Lol

February 27th, 2015 – How does one get rid of a Parent?

My parents do not understand the concept of personal space. So I was talking to Jake in the parking. Yes. HE ACTUALLY SPOKE TO ME. But there’s too much going on for me to get excited about that. There I was explaining to him what we had to do for our mid-term paper, nervous as hell of saying something stupid to the cutest boy in school, and Mom pops out of nowhere. Why can’t she just wait in the car like all the other parents? She was all, “So yooooou’re the Jake, Melissa won’t stop talking about” I just shoved my head into my bag and stomped my way to the car.

50 – Responses

gamer8055 : Is he that cute?

austinXtyler : You should consider hypnosis. I’m taking a course online to deal with my parents.

demilover : I feel you!

March 15th, 2015 – I’m officially the luckiest girl on the planet. 

He asked me out! I’m not naming names or places. God help me if he ever read any of this. I’m officially dating!! *Does an embarrassing happy dance*

10 – Responses

delilahjones : *Joins in on the happy dancing*

thehipdad : Use protection.

March 24th, 2015 – Jimmy Choos or Louboutins?

Guys! My prom is in an hour. He’s on his way to pick me up and I’m freaking out! I need your help. Let’s have a quick poll please.

Choos – 35

Louboutins – 27

April 10th, 2015 – What do I get my boyfriend for his birthday?

How cute is it that our 1 month anniversary is the same day as his birthday? We are so meant to be.

13 – Responses

swiftie4life : Clothes? It will remind him of you every time he wears it.

Reply to swiftie4life : Thanks πŸ™‚

thebroodedude : Condoms! πŸ˜€

Reply to thebroodedude – by gamer8055 : Get lost you perv.

April 15th, 2015 – I’m Dying.

I can’t get over his smile. I’m so happy, I’m dying. Today was amazing. I gave him a shirt. He said he loved it. That’s not all he said. He said.. He loved it, as much as he loves me. ME! I can’t believe he said it. I told him I loved him too. We talked a lot today. More than usual. I think I’ve crossed that phase of my life where I needed someone’s advice to know what I want. It’s simple. I want him. I’m going to focus on our relationship and school and all the amazing things in life I have going on, instead of wasting time on the internet. I feel like he’s the one. I know I’m only 16. I’ve dated like one boy so far and it’s him. Everyone’s gonna say I can’t possibly know if he’s the one, right now. And that’s fine. But I know what I feel. We’ll see what happens won’t we?  Waiting is easy. I’ll just get lost in his eyes in the mean time. – xoxo.

30 – Responses

swiftie4life : Told you the shirt would work! You’re welcome.

itsmehannah : Yay!! Mel and Jake 4eva ❀

Reply to itsmehannah : Hannah!! how did you find me? I’m sorry I didn’t tell you. Please don’t kill me for this.

December 10th, 2015 – Is my Boyfriend crazy?

I really need some advice. I feel so lost. My hands are literally shaking. I don’t even know if I can talk about this to anyone I know. We’ve been dating for almost year now. We’re only teenagers, yet we found ourselves talking about rings and how we’d spend our future together. We even applied to all the same colleges. I’ve been living a fairy tale until this happened.

So my classmate texted me asking if he could borrow my inflatable mattress for a camping trip and I told him it was fine. He came over to pick it up and we were in my room trying to bag up the mattress. My parents weren’t home and my boyfriend decided to surprise me with a visit at the same time and he just walked into my house to find us (me and my our classmate), in my bedroom.

He just lost it and started walking away. I tried to explain it to him, so i ran after him and got into his car. He wasn’t listening to reason at all. He was angry and saying things like he wanted to hit me and bash my skull in because that’s what I deserved. So I was about to just give up and get out of the car. Suddenly he just grabbed me and hugged me tight. Begging me not to leave. I still have bruises in both my arms from the way he held me.

After that a few days have passed and he’s apologised many times. He said he didn’t mean any of it and that he was just mad. I don’t know what to do. I still love him but I’m scared.

To be continued… 

Β© Abirami

36 thoughts on “Online – Episode #1

  1. Nice flow. I’m not sure the intro either works or is needed. You might consider it as something she tells the reader after the fact – looking back at all this. A good twist with the boyfriend’s (Jake?) coming in on Mel and her friend. The end of this episode is a quasi-cliff hanger, and you’ve set up well how relationships go at that age: drama, misunderstandings, love-of-my-life lack of experience kind of thing. So I’m ready for the next episode to see how all this plays out. I’ve the feeling there are some possible bits of foretelling within the earlier parts of the story, but time will tell. Good start.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for reading. πŸ™‚ The first part is a prologue of sorts. I wasn’t sure people would be interested in this sort of writing as it isn’t very conventional. I will post the next episode in a week πŸ™‚ Thank you again for the detailed feedback!!

      Like

    2. And a quick question, would you like me to continue in this blog post sort of format with her daily logs telling the story, or would you like a normal narrative?

      Like

      1. That’s what makes it unique and effective. I like the “skeletal” form, as it will draw the reader into forming mental images of the characters. Keep it simple, in my opinion. It’s not a matter of what I would like, by the way – but what you are content with. Do you have a plot outlined or are you SWAG-ing? I do both in my writing. Sometimes when I launch a story, I basically know where it’s going, as in The Technicolor Dreamer, and other times, like The Cicadas, I don’t. SWAG stands for shoot from the waist and guess.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The joy of writing comes from the surprises we hadn’t anticipated. In The Typewriter, I was kept on my toes – not knowing exactly where things were going plotwise or character-wise

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s how almost everyone writes, though we like to show as if we had a great story line planned, character sheets developed, you cannot write a story like that. Atleast not a one, you’re passionate about. A good story makes you feel weird things and when you feel weird thigs, you do not write by a defined story line.
        My idea of writing, atleast.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Unconventionality is 😍😍😍!!!! (I don’t know if that’s even a word!) But still, it was so new a format. The story’s build is cool. Just make us used to the format with a even cooler content and it will be enjoyable. And give some sneak-peeks for long-time readers(ME!!😁). Keep ’em coming we need some high-end drama here, reality’s not that funny.. You know what I mean!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey… I had typed this earlier just when u posted it but cudnt send it at dat time… Well….its amazingg… I m kinda waiting eagerly for the next episode 😍.. pls tell me when r u gonna publish it… Waiting!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This format is good… I like how u hv shown it date wise… But u know it seems more like she is writing in a diary than posting it on social​ media… A narrative will also do but u know dis format pushes d story by many days and months which is good… Anyways I loved it… And congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The content that you have seems to have potential!
    And it’d be great if it we’re in the form of entries…it’d be a something like the Anne frank diary (diary of the young girl)which happens to be a great form of narration.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.