What’s in a Name? – The Story behind my Blog’s title.

It is the first and foremost thing we judge everything around us by. If you met someone by a name that was long enough to be it’s own sentence, wouldn’t that catch your attention? I am Abirami Vellingiri Thirunavukkarasu. There. Say it without taking a breath in between. I dare you. Doesn’t knowing my full name change anything? Doesn’t it somehow change the way you look at me?

Abirami is a Hindu Goddess. My father being the religious man he is, obviously named me after a deity. My name speaks of my background, my roots. So you are indeed right to judge me by my name.

I still remember the days I spent, tormenting myself over what I would name my new puppy. After weeks of lists and agonising over various spellings, I landed on Dobby. I’ve always loved Dobby from Harry Potter and I decided I wanted my own little Dobby. But, as soon as I met my little pupper I knew that the name wasn’t right. He wasn’t that sweet, sad little elf. He was a happy, energetic, feisty little furball. And so he became Leo. I know that it’s a generic name for a labrador. But whenever I hear the name, my heart immediately feels fuller, I can feel the joy spread through my very bones. Names sometimes acquire meanings because of what they represent.

There’s a lot in a name.

I started this blog as a teenage misfit. Teenblogzz seemed like an appropriate name at the time. Over time, I have grown out of it. Since a name means so much I decided that it was time I made a change. That is why, now, at the top of your browser it says “obsessivewriting.wordpress.com” instead of “teenblogzz.wordpress.com”.

Its a weird choice of word, “Obsessive”. Weird just like me. That is how I truly look at writing. It’s something I have to do. Maybe it’s for self satisfaction, or maybe it’s my only outlet. Whatever the reason, it’s always been my obsession.

So what’s the story behind your blog?

– The Obsessive Writer.

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Name? – The Story behind my Blog’s title.

  1. My Blog Title is Desire To Express – Actually Exercising Right To Expression. That’s because I used to have a good deal of opinions on social and political issues and since in schools, such discussions are not encouraged that much because they have to stick to the syllabus, I started this blog. To give my opinions about the current happenings of the world. But only after 1 or 2 posts, this blog became mine- as now it was all about my own feelings ! But I didnt change my Blog Title coz still its aim was to let me Express.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

