18 Already!? – Teenage crisis.

Go back to your childhood for a moment.

Are you there yet? Okay

Think of that one thing you’ve always wanted.

Do you have it now?

Did it change your life the way you expected it to?

All that I have ever wanted is freedom. To become an independent adult, make my own choices and be my own person. I have been over protected all my life and I thought that being a legal adult meant that I would no longer be controlled by anyone or anything. (I know. I’m an idiot.)

This January of 2016 I did turn 18. Huraaaaaah! I can drive. I can vote! what not? The world is my oyster. It was really surreal for the first couple of days. And then, slowly, the excitement died and I saw the unfiltered version of this big “change”. It was everything I did not expect it to be.

You know how when you want something real bad? It seems like the greatest thing in the world. An unsurmountable peak. And then when you finally get it, it’s no big deal anymore. Well, that’s exactly what happened with me. That and some more.

It took a while, but then it hit me. I am an adult. I have responsibilities. I don’t even know the electoral candidates’ last names and I’m supposed to vote. I don’t even have my own bank account, or a job that pays but I swindle money like it grows on trees. All I wanted was passion in my professional life and here I am hating every bit of college.

It’s ironic that I spent all of my life waiting for this part of my life, and now that it’s here, I have no idea how to handle it.

tumblr_nifhvawMSY1tq4of6o1_500

Maybe being this lost will urge me to find my way.

Sincerely,

The Obsessive Writer.

 

12 thoughts on “18 Already!? – Teenage crisis.

  1. Haha, I’m more than 10 years older than you, but gosh I can relate. You assume there will be a big change, that suddenly you will feel like an adult. I’ve been married for 9 years, and have three children, yet I’m still waiting to feel like an adult. I’m wondering if it will ever happen 😂.
    Xx

    Ps: Enjoy the little freedoms that come with being an adult before the real responsibilities begin 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. My hopes are higher than ever before! 😝 Thank you for commenting. 🙂 And as you said I am trying to focus on all the good things right now. And they have a real messed up way of remaining “good”😅
      Anyway, have a great day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey I’m barely 16 and I absolutely HATE that I’m so dependent on my parents for everything ugh,
    I’m dependent on them for transport if there’s a party. If they’re working, well I’m staying at home. I’m dependent on them for financials :O Sometimes I see a cute dress and I’m like – I WANT THAT… But its wayy to expensive so nope. They have an invisible leash over me, stopping me from doing everything I want to do (which, is not such a bad thing I guess).
    I can’t WAIT to be independent… But after reading this it’s sorta given me an outlook on the other side – that its not all lavish spending and freedom. Adulthood comes with responsibility, And now I so want some more time being a kid 😛
    Thank you you opened my eyes. 🙂

    Also I’m new here and I love your blog ❤ it would be great if you could check mine out 🙂 xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You’re excatly the kind of person I wrote this post for! 😀 I’m so glad you found it! Cherish your childhood! It’ll never come back to you. And I honestly think it’s the best part of life. 🙂 Good luck to you! I will be glad to help out with anything you need. 🙂 Thank you so much for commenting. It means a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi there. I’m currently 17 yo and I can relate to you so much! I always wanted to grow up quickly so I can be independent already but now that I’m an almost adult— I’m just scared! I feel like I’m still so immature and I can’t handle all those adult responsibilities. 😪

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha! I know the feeling. Trust me I’m in that phase. But don’t worry, it’s not all bad. 🙂 but nothing compares to the carefree childhood I had! I can say that for sure. 😐

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

